(My) first days of EVS in Belgrade

Hello! For my first post I will explain how were my first days since I arrived in Belgrade.

14 hours after taking a train from Seville to Madrid, then a plane to Frankfurt and then another one I finally arrived to Belgrade. Our menthor (Dragan) was there waiting for me and  on the way home he explained me some aspects about the flat, our projects, our working days, …. We got off in Slavija Square and in less than 5 minutes I was meeting my flatmates (Sonia – from Austria, Lana- from Holland and Johannes- from Germany) who are also EVS volunteers in the Media Education Center. We will have another EVS volunteer living with us, Maciej – from Poland, who will join us from January 2010. The flat is fully equiped, big enough for all of us, and in a very good location. It takes a 15 minutes walk (or 10 minutes if you use the tram) to get to the offices of the MEC, which are located just beside the Parliament.

We all had prepared an envelope with a copy of the keys of the house, a public transport pass valid to use all the local trams and buses for one year, two maps of Belgrade, 1 newspaper in English, and several touristic brochures. All of it resulted to be very helpful for our first days in a new city.

All the other volunteers had arrived several days before me and when I arrived to Belgrade they were doing a workshop at the Arkabarka hostel. You can see a picture of all the participants under this paragraph. I was able to visit them and meet very friendly and interesting people from Serbia, Bosnia, Italy, Portugal, Georgia…

 

When I was not in the workshop with them I walked around the city and started to get used to the new city. I took my first pictures and enjoyed the sights of where I will live for 9 months.

We have had some meetings with the MEC staff (Miomir, Suncica, Dragan, all of them friendly and helpful). We have also started to know how to animate with the animation boxes and started to learn serbian with Sonia (a different “Sonia”)  and in two lessons we learned the alphabets (both latin and cirylic) and some useful words and expressions. All of us are very motivated about learning serbian and having a good teacher helps a lot.

 

On my fifth day it started to snow and now the city looks completely different. I’ll post some pictures during the next days.

Well, I have to get ready for my Serbian class now so… write to you soon!

Leave a Reply

